Gluten

Protein from wheat, barley, rye, spelt, and contaminated oats.

What It Is

Gluten is a group of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, spelt, kamut, and non-certified gluten-free oats.

Who Should Avoid It

  • Celiacs (autoimmune disease, ~1% of the population): severe intestinal damage, mandatory to avoid even traces.
  • Non-celiac gluten-sensitive individuals: digestive symptoms without autoimmune damage.
  • Wheat-allergic individuals: classic allergic reaction.

Where It Appears

Bread, pasta, beer, sauces with flour, processed meats with binders, many fried foods with common flour, industrial chocolate, desserts, commercial broths.